Turkey Super Lig 05/22 13:00 38 [4] Istanbul Basaksehir v Trabzonspor [1] W 3-1
Turkey Super Lig 05/15 16:00 37 [15] Giresunspor v Istanbul Basaksehir [4] D 1-1
Turkey Super Lig 05/07 16:00 36 [4] Istanbul Basaksehir v Galatasaray [13] D 0-0
Turkey Super Lig 04/30 13:00 35 [11] Kasimpasa v Istanbul Basaksehir [4] W 2-3
Turkey Super Lig 04/24 13:00 34 [4] Istanbul Basaksehir v Hatayspor [10] W 3-0
Turkey Super Lig 04/16 13:00 33 [18] Altay v Istanbul Basaksehir [4] D 1-1
Turkey Super Lig 04/10 13:00 32 [12] Sivasspor v Istanbul Basaksehir [5] W 0-2
Turkey Super Lig 04/04 17:30 31 [6] Istanbul Basaksehir v Yeni Malatyaspor [20] W 1-0
Turkey Super Lig 03/19 13:00 30 [7] Adana Demirspor v Istanbul Basaksehir [4] L 2-1
Turkey Super Lig 03/14 13:00 29 [4] Istanbul Basaksehir v Antalyaspor [15] L 0-1
Turkey Super Lig 03/07 17:00 28 [6] Besiktas v Istanbul Basaksehir [4] D 2-2
Turkey Super Lig 02/26 13:00 27 [3] Istanbul Basaksehir v Fatih Karagumruk [11] L 1-2


Matches played 39 20 19
Wins 19 12 7
Draws 9 3 6
Losses 11 5 6
Goals for 57 31 26
Goals against 37 16 21
Clean sheets 12 7 5
Failed to score 8 5 3

İstanbul Başakşehir Futbol Kulübü (Turkish pronunciation: [isˈtɑnbuɫ bɑʃɑkʃeˈhiɾ futˈboɫ kulyˈby]) is a Turkish professional football club based in the Başakşehir district of Istanbul. The club is better known simply as İstanbul Başakşehir or, due to sponsorship, Medipol Başakşehir (Turkish pronunciation: [mediˈpoɫ bɑʃɑkʃeˈhiɾ]). The club was founded in 1990 as İstanbul Büyükşehir Belediyespor (Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality Sports Club). They first reached the highest level in Turkish Football in 2007–08. They play their home games at the Fatih Terim Stadium in Istanbul.

The club is one of six Süper Lig teams based in Istanbul, along with Fenerbahçe, Galatasaray, Beşiktaş, Fatih Karagümrük S.K. and Kasımpaşa. In the 2016–17 season, they participated in the Süper Lig, Turkish Cup and UEFA Europa League. In the 2017–18 season they reached the play-off round of the UEFA Champions League qualifying round. They won their first top flight title in the 2019–20 season.


The club is comparatively new compared with other professional Turkish teams, having been established in 1990. The club's former name was "ISKI SK" and they were owned by the municipality's water distribution company. ISKI SK competed in the Regional Amateur Football League in the 1990–91 season and were promoted to the TFF Second League. After promotion, the club's name changed to İstanbul Büyükşehir Belediyesi (Turkish for Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality). The club played in the TFF Second League until 1996, but after the 2006–07 season they were promoted to the Süper Lig. Finishing 12th in the 2007–08 season enabled them to remain in the Süper Lig for the 2007–08 season. In the 2009–10 season, the club finished the season in 6th place. In the 2012–13 season, the club finished 16th and relegated to the TFF First League. But it finished in the TFF First League as champions and made an immediate return to the top level in the 2013–14 season.

In 2014, the club was bought by new owners with ties to the ruling Justice and Development Party. Its name was changed in June 2014 to "İstanbul Başakşehir Futbol Kulübü". During the following 2014–15 and 2015–16 seasons, the club finished in 4th place.

On 25 May 2015, İstanbul Başakşehir Futbol Kulübü signed a sponsorship agreement with "Medipol Eğitim ve Sağlık Grubu" (Medipol Education and Health Group) for four years and the team's name changed to "Medipol Başakşehir Futbol Kulübü".

On 19 July 2020, Başakşehir were crowned champions of the Turkish Süper Lig for the first time in the club's history. They also became only the sixth club in the competition's history to win the league title and the fourth club from Istanbul to do so.

They won their first Champions League fixture on 4 November 2020 in a 2–1 home win over English side Manchester United.