Venezuela Primera Division 08/18 20:00 26 Deportivo Tachira vs UCV - View
Venezuela Primera Division 08/19 23:15 25 CD Lara vs Deportivo Tachira - View
Venezuela Primera Division 08/25 20:00 27 Academia Puerto Cabello vs Deportivo Tachira - View
Venezuela Primera Division 09/03 20:00 28 Deportivo Tachira vs CD Hermanos Colmenares - View
Venezuela Primera Division 09/10 20:00 29 Zulia vs Deportivo Tachira - View
Venezuela Primera Division 09/17 20:00 30 Deportivo Tachira vs Estudiantes Merida - View


Venezuela Primera Division 08/14 23:15 24 [6] Deportivo Tachira v Carabobo [7] D 0-0
Venezuela Primera Division 08/11 20:00 25 CD Lara v Deportivo Tachira - PPT.
Copa Sudamericana 08/10 00:30 3 Independiente del Valle v Deportivo Tachira L 4-1
Venezuela Primera Division 08/05 23:15 23 [2] Zamora v Deportivo Tachira [4] L 2-0
Copa Sudamericana 08/03 00:30 3 Deportivo Tachira v Independiente del Valle L 0-1
Venezuela Primera Division 07/29 23:15 22 [4] Deportivo Tachira v Caracas [5] D 0-0
Venezuela Primera Division 07/22 23:15 21 [6] Deportivo La Guaira v Deportivo Tachira [4] D 0-0
Venezuela Primera Division 07/15 23:15 20 [4] Deportivo Tachira v Metropolitanos FC [1] W 3-0
Venezuela Primera Division 07/10 23:15 19 [9] Portuguesa FC v Deportivo Tachira [4] D 0-0
Copa Sudamericana 07/07 00:30 4 Santos v Deportivo Tachira W 3-5
Venezuela Primera Division 07/02 21:00 18 [4] Deportivo Tachira v Mineros de Guayana [12] W 1-0
Copa Sudamericana 06/30 00:30 4 Deportivo Tachira v Santos D 1-1


Matches played 54 27 27
Wins 22 14 8
Draws 17 8 9
Losses 15 5 10
Goals for 79 49 30
Goals against 62 27 35
Clean sheets 20 13 7
Failed to score 14 5 9

The Deportivo Táchira Futbol Club is a professional football club of the city of San Cristóbal, Venezuela. It was founded on January 11, 1974 by Gaetano Greco, and was originally called the San Cristobal Football Club. It is Venezuela's most popular football club.

The club plays its home matches at the Polideportivo de Pueblo Nuevo, which has a capacity of 42,500. Since 1975, it participates in the Venezuelan Primera División, making it the only Venezuelan team that has never fallen or participated in the lower category. Currently it holds the first position of the historical classification of the Venezuelan Primera División with 2229 points.

At the international level, it is the Venezuelan club with the most appearances in the Copa Libertadores. Its best international participation was its advance to the quarter-finals unbeaten in the Copa Libertadores 2004. It is the only Venezuelan club that has advanced past the first phase of the Copa Libertadores.

Deportivo Tachira has a subsidiary named Deportivo Táchira team "B", which participates in the Venezuelan Segunda División. It also has a Futsal team called Deportivo Tachira Fútsal Club, which plays in the Venezuelan Futsal League and the Superior Futsal Tournament.

Its fiercest rival is the Caracas FC, with whom it disputes the "Modern Derby" (Clásico Moderno) of Venezuelan football. It also plays the so-called "Andean Derby" (Clásico Andino) against Estudiantes de Mérida.


In 1970, Italian-born Gaetano Greco founded an amateur club called Juventus in San Cristóbal, named after the Juventus FC. In 1974, Greco noticed that there were no professional football clubs in Táchira, so he decided to found a club in Táchira based on the amateur Juventus club. He and twelve other people founded the club on January 11 of that year, which they named San Cristóbal Fútbol Club. Most of the club's players came from the Juventus club. Initially, the club's colors were blue and white, similar to the Italy national football team kits.

In January 1975, the club changed its colors to yellow and black, because those colors better represented the Táchira state and were the preferred colors of the Uruguayan manager José "Pocho" Gil, as they were the colors of the Uruguayan team Peñarol.

In the 2016 season, Deportivo Táchira drew an average home league attendance of 5,595 in the Apertura and 4,033 in the Clausura, the highest in the domestic league.

Naming history

Year Name
1974 San Cristóbal Fútbol Club
1975 Deportivo San Cristóbal Fútbol Club
1978 Deportivo Táchira Fútbol Club
1986 Unión Atlético Táchira
1999 Deportivo Táchira Fútbol Club